Rosing from the Dead

Paul J. Willis

book cover

Order from Amazon:
Print Edition | Kindle Edition

Retail Price: $12.00
Subject Category: Poetry
Length: 99 pages
Size: 6 x 9 inches
Binding: paper
Published: October 2009
ISBN: 978-1-60226-004-7


Paul J. Willis is a professor of English at Westmont College in Santa Barbara, California. His poems have been featured on Verse Daily and Garrison Keillor's The Writer's Almanac. And his work (including poems, essays and reviews) has also appeared in The Best Christian Writing 2006 (Jossey-Bass), The Best American Spiritual Writing 2004 (Houghton Mifflin), The Best Spiritual Writing 1999 (HarperSanFrancisco), and in publications such as Ascent, Books & Culture, The Christian Century, Image, Poetry, Redwood Coast Review, River Teeth and Wilderness.

His first full-length collection of poems is Visiting Home (Pecan Grove Press, 2006), and his chapbooks include Poison Oak (Mille Grazie Press, 1999), The Deep and Secret Color of Ice (Small Poetry Press, 2003) and How to Get There (Finishing Line Press, 2004). He is also the author of two eco-fantasy novels, No Clock in the Forest and The Stolen River (both Avon, 1993). With David Starkey, he is co-editor of the anthology In a Fine Frenzy: Poets Respond to Shakespeare (University of Iowa Press, 2005).

Willis gives readings and workshops around the country. A former mountain guide in the Cascades and Sierra Nevada, he now spends his spare time rambling in the San Rafael Mountains behind his home.

Paul J. Willis Online

Check out Paul's website.

An Interview with Paul J. Willis:

"Only You Can Write Your Poem," an interview with Joe Bunting for his blog, The Write Practice. Read the interview; then post your own poem!

Willis's Poems on Verse Daily and The Writer's Almanac!

"Common Ground" (posted October 12, 2010, repeated from an original posting July 26, 2009--this one must be a favorite of Garrison Keillor!)
"Preparedness" (posted May 9, 2009)
"Letter to Beowulf" (posted October 8, 2008)

Other Books by Paul J. Willis


Deer at Twilight: Poems from the North Cascades (Stephen F. Austin University Press, 2018)
Getting to Gardisky Lake (Stephen F. Austin University Press, 2016)
Say This Prayer into the Past (Poiema Poetry Series, Cascade Books, 2013)
Visiting Home (Pecan Grove Press, 2008)
How to Get There (Finishing Line Press, 2004)

Edited Collections of Poetry

In a Fine Frenzy: Poets Respond to Shakespeare (University of Iowa Press, 2013)


To Build a Trail (WordFarm, 2018)
Bright Shoots of Everlastingness (WordFarm, 2005)


The Alpine Tales (WordFarm, 2010)